• [Review] Gungrave (Spoiler free)

Gungrave
    Original run: October 6, 2003 – March 29, 2004
    Episodes: 26
    Genre: Action, Action, Drama, Crime, Sci Fi, Supernatural
    Studio: Madhouse
    Written by: 黒田 洋介 (Kuroda Yousuke)
    Directed by: 都留 稔幸 (Tsuru Toshiyuki)

"One more thing, He's no longer called Brandon. That name does not belong to him anymore. He's called Grave, call him Beyond the Grave."
    - Dr. Tokioka
    [Funimation dub]

Hey I'm pretty new to Hongfire and I saw these reviews on the front page of HF and thought I'd do one too to contribute to the HF community with a review of one of my all time favorite animes.
    This review isn't going to be very professional though so give me any thoughts and criticism for future reference if I ever decide to do another one.

Overview:

I've never played the game but this anime is supposedly based on the game. So basically you'd have this guy called Beyond the Grave all clad in a dark trench coat with a pair of handguns called Cerberus and carries around a metal coffin with doubles as a variety of weapons like a machine gun as the main character.(totally reminds you of Wolfwood from Trigun and Dante from Devil May Cry) with Mika as the tragic heroine and Dr. Tokioka as the support cast and their out for vengeance. Most of this Anime though centers around Grave's past with the first episode as the introductory to the main cast and how badass Grave is and around like 20 episodes would be a flashback to around 20 years ago. You'd think why would they focus 20 whole episodes into Grave's past but that's where the beef of the story lies.

Story: